All About 2020 Assembly Elections – Delhi, Bihar And Puducherry

Just when we thought that we are over with the days of all-round election promotions, posters of different leaders pitching to us, making speeches and making promises that they won’t be able to deliver on – there comes another bout of the election.

With the upcoming assembly elections in Delhi, Bihar and Puducherry – let’s have a look at all the alliances which the parties had formed or broken off in the pursuit of their golden dream of winning the elections and somewhere the heart of people.


The capital of the nation, everyone wants to rule the heart of the country, but only a few can do so. After the long decades of being ruled by Indian Congress Party – Delhi breathed fresh air for the first time in the form of Aam Aadmi Party or AAP.

It was formed in 2012 by Arvind Kejriwal and overthrew the 15 year-long rule of congress in 2013. In 2015 Assembly Poll, the AAP

was able to win 67 out of 70 seats with it’s share in votes more than 50 per cent. In opposition, BJP was able to bag three seats leaving Congress on the sidelines with zero seats.

In the upcoming Lok Sabha Assembly Elections to be held on February 2020, AAP decided to not form any alliance after in its attempt to overthrow BJP majority; it formed a coalition with Congress which resulted in being disastrous lasting for a period of 49 days.

This time around, AAP is firm in its belief that they can contest and win the assembly election alone without the alliance from any parties as they believe the people will support them.

On the other hand, National Democratic Alliance that is BJP has selected the State Yuva Morcha President Sunil Yadav from the New Delhi constituency to contest against the current Chief Minister of Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal. This decision came after the announcement of Siromani Akali Dal (SAD) to not contest the Delhi polls in alliance with the BJP due to its stand on the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA). In the Delhi elections, BJP has left three seats for it alliance partners that is Janta Dal United or JD(U) and Lok Janshakti Party.

The result of the Delhi elections will be announced on 11 February 2020.


The Bihar polls assembly election scheduled for the month of October- November will be significant from the political point of view after the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. While Delhi elections are a fight for pride, Bihar polls will examine the ability of the BJP to keep its alliance intact in the upcoming elections.

The major fight for the seats will be between Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) and Rashtriya Janata Party (RJD)

Despite returning to power at the Centre, it could not fair well in 2019 Lok Sabha election in Bihar making it the first state that BJP lost after coming to power in 2014. With the alliance of JD(U) led by CM Nitish Kumar, it was able to form its presence in Bihar after losing the state in 2015 elections. If the NDA alliance with JD(U) wins, it will make it the longest-standing alliance.

On the other hand, for Congress, it will be a fight for survival. In alliance with Rashtriya Janata Party or RJD led by former CM Lalu Prasad Yadav in 2019 Lok Sabha election did not turn out to be a fruitful alliance. In the Lok Sabha polls, RJD had attempted to woo different castes through alliance partners — like Kushwahas (RLSP), a section of Dalits (Jitan Ram Manjhi) and Mallahs (Mukesh Sahni) —and failed. However, the party is unwilling to break the partnerships completely.

This time RJD will contest election alone without any alliance.

Bihar assembly elections will be a fight for securing the Hindi speaking regions and the large bank of voters for both the NDA and the opposition parties.


Among the upcoming elections, Puducherry also becomes the talk in the news. Puducherry (Pondicherry) is a Lok Sabha/Parliamentary in South India. The estimated literacy level of Puducherry is 86.55%.

In the 2019 elections, Indian National Congress candidate A John Kumar won by double the number of votes, defeating All India NR Congress candidate who bagged 7612 votes. Congress was able to dominate its majority in 2019 Lok Sabha elections as a result of its alliance Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK).

On the other hand, Bhuvaneswaran contested in the All India NR Congress (AINRC)-All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance which was defeated in the 2019 Lok Sabha assembly elections.

For the upcoming assembly elections in 2020, it yet to be seen that which party makes the first moves to secure the vote bankers and whether the current alliance will continue in the upcoming 2020 elections or not.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button