Bihar Election 2020: Tug Of War Intensifies Between Tejaswi Yadav & Nitesh Kumar Amid Polling

Bihar election 2020 is witnessing a tussle between Tejaswi Yadav, the young leader and the face of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) and Chief Minister Nitesh Kumar of National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is steaming with airy promises and high claims of development in the state since the polling is underway.

As the campaign for the first phase ends, the air of Bihar stenches of hefty competition. Remarks by leaders of the sides, the Mahagathbandhan of UPA and NDA alliances are hovering on the heads of the voters.

Promises by both the sides are skyrocketing in the areas of agriculture, unemployment and education, as they back it up by their history of being in power.

The tussle between the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejaswi Yadav and CM Nitesh Kumar has been quite sharp as the two have indulged in cross swords while promising employment in their rallies.

For now, leaders have resorted to highlighting personal digs against each other rather than the pointers in the manifestos released by them.

Tejaswi Yadav stated confidently “The ‘Mahagathbandhan’ will get a two-thirds majority in the Bihar polls” as quoted by the news agency Press Trust of India. The RJD leader has vehemently said that he would bring legislation in the first assembly session to dissolve the ‘anti-farmer’ laws passed in the Parliament which was brought by the Centre.

Meanwhile the CM candidate for NDA alliance Nitesh Kumar is facing a tough challenge with their former ally the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), whose leader, Chirag Paswan, made it very evident that his sole aim is to drive out Nitish Kumar from the NDA alliance and form a government with the BJP.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday affirmed that the Bihar moved from misgovernance to good governance under Nitesh Kumar. PM Modi, while addressing a rally in Patna, said: “In this difficult time of pandemic, Bihar needs to maintain a stable government. A government that will ensure development and good governance.”

The Mahagathbandhan on Wednesday slammed the state government over the Munger firing incident, — a violent clash between volunteers taking an idol for immersion and the police — wherein a person was killed, and many others left injured in firing during Durga Visarjan ceremony in Bihar’s Munger. “This double-engine government definitely had a role in it. Who permitted to become General Dyer? What has Sushil Modi done except for tweeting,” RJD leader and grand alliance chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav said, requesting a high court-monitored probe in the matter.

The Bihar Assembly of 243 seats is all set to go to polls will be conducted in three phases starting from today. Polling is undertaken in 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar as part of first phase of elections amid stingy security and COVID-19 guidelines in place.

The luck of around a thousand candidates across these assembly segments will be decided today by more than two crore voters. Of the almost 2.15 crore electors eligible to exercise the franchise, 1.12 crore are male, 1.01 crore female and 599 are from the third gender. According to a news report by Times of India voter turnout of 46.29 per cent was recorded till 3 pm.

As the election takes place amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Election Commission had issued several guidelines for the safe conduct of the electoral exercise. Voting will end at 6 pm, and Covid-19 patients are supposed to vote in the last hour.

The second phase of election is scheduled to be held on November 3 for 94 seats on and lastly the third phase for 78 seats on November 7. The results come out on November 10.

Nawaal Arshad

A girl with aspirations and desires skyrocketing yet likes to keep it lowkey—also a political enthusiast with the zest of bringing a change. I always like to be indulged in good conversations with a hot cup of coffee. I am an avid reader with a habit of binge-watching movies and shows.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button